//
you're reading...
Minimalism

The Downside to Downsizing: 10 Reasons Not to Become a Minimalist

The Downsides to Minimalist Living

When I made the commitment several years ago to downsize my possessions to a couple hundred essentials, I thought I was really doing something spectacular. I was extremely proud of myself at having embarked upon yet another layer of self-transformation, and I couldn’t wait to tell all my friends. Little did I know until I started talking to people about my downsizing escapades, that some of my friends simply could not wrap their minds around the notion that I was actually getting rid of my stuff. And not just a few dog-eared books and dusty old magazines, mind you! I’m talking about the good stuff! My stereo, the dvd player, the television, and gifts given to me by my life-long friends. The works! They actually thought I was losing my mind! Something had to be seriously wrong with me, they thought, for me to be taking such drastic measures. Nothing could be further from the truth.

To give you some idea of what you can expect as you venture towards your minimalist ideal, I have put together a few reasons why becoming a minimalist may not be all it’s cracked up to be! So here goes!

Ten Reasons Not to Become a Minimalist

1. People will think you’re about to commit suicide. I was really shocked by this one. People who know me know that as long as there is a bridge game to played, there is no way I’m going to leave this existence on the hurry up. It’s not gonna happen.

2. When people drop by and see all the empty spaces in your abode, they will ask you whether you put your stuff in storage.

3. You will be blamed for a rise in the unemployment rate. Since you buy less stuff, people will have fewer jobs. It’s something called the Law of Unintended Consequences.

4. You may become an unclutterholic! Now you’ve gone to the other extreme. You’re constantly getting rid of things.

5. If you don’t own a television, you may have a problem getting any man to come over on football nights.

6. People will be reluctant to spend the night at your place because you don’t own a television or a radio!

7. People will think you’re a miser. Not that a miserly existence is necessarily a bad thing mind you. If it works for you, do it!

8. You will be an aberration to those who cannot imagine even one day without shopping!

9. People will complain that your place is too quiet.

10. People will tell you that you MUST hold on to some things “just in case.” “Just in case” has simply not happened for me during my cluttered existence!

In addition to a few lifestyle changes, be prepared for some raised eyebrows as you venture along the minimalist path. Good luck!

Feel free to post comments. I love them and will respond to them all.

If you like this post, tell all your friends and click the Like button below. Thank you.

Keeping it easy and breezy,
Vita Reid – The One Minute Minimalist
Follow me on Twitter: @vitareid

About Vita Reid

"You cannot Change What You Will Not Confront." T.D. Jakes. I am a 1993 graduate of Smith College, having majored in Psychology with a minor in Mathematics. I lived in Lawrence House during my senior year. I am an ardent bridge player and soon-to-be expert. My motivation to declutter, minimalize and clean my apartment began 10 years ago when I visited my friend's minimalistic apartment in Manhattan. He owned nothing. My motivation to speed the process of down-sizing my possessions along is fueled by a desire to entertain a world-class bridge player at my home during the world games to be held at the Marriott Hotel on Market Street in Philadelphia in October 2010. Being that I will be working almost exclusively from home when my voice over career flourishes, I would like to make my apartment pleasing to my own eye. Since clutter can also be an impediment to creativity, I find it essential to rid myself of it so that I can develop more creativity in many areas of my life, including at the bridge table, my blog posts and developing creative marketing strategies for my voice over business. This blog represents a diary of my genuine feelings moment by moment as I make the transformation from 12 years of disorganized clutter to owning only the bare essentials of life. May you find a few nuggets in the writings to inspire you in your life's journey. Keeping it easy and breezy in the land of less, Vita Reid The One Minute Minimalist

Discussion

4 thoughts on “The Downside to Downsizing: 10 Reasons Not to Become a Minimalist

  1. Great information. Lucky me I recently found your site by chance (stumbleupon).
    I have bookmarked it for later!

    Posted by watch dogs trailer | August 1, 2013, 1:28 AM
  2. I own two houses and one rental. At the age o f late sixty, I decided downsizing my two houses to nothing left. I call the salvation and donated everything today. With two trucks full of my stuffs and two more tomorrow. I feel so good, I feel light and free. Now my house is emptied. I have one bed, one pot and one set of silver wear, one towel one hat one backpack and two outfits.i have never feel the taste of freedom until now. Eventually I will be moving to one tiny house, I don’t need five bedroom house with someroomsi have not set foot to for months. Thank for this article. I am finally freed.

    Posted by Sue | November 4, 2013, 10:41 PM

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 16,207 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

