//
you're reading...
Minimalism

Minimalist Living Tip: Keep Clutter at Bay – Control Your Repeat Purchases

Minimizing for me is a two-prong process: Prong 1: getting rid of the excess; and Prong 2: refusing to purchase what you don’t need. While you are in the midst of downsizing your possessions (or even if you’re just entertaining the thought of doing so), you can move the process of minimizing right along by refusing to accumulate any more items than you already have now. That would be Prong 2. If you’re like me, your abode is cluttered with an abundance of specific items which you tend to buy over and over again, even though you already have more than you can possibly use in your lifetime. For me, it’s spiral notebooks, vitamin and mineral supplements, nail clippers, books, magazines, office supplies, greeting cards, and contract bridge supplies.

Once you’ve made a list of the items you tend to hoard (let’s call it your Clutter-Buster List), then you make a list of the places where you buy them (let’s call this your Clutter-Avoidance List). Hardly a week goes by that I don’t shop at one of these places: CVS, Walgreens, and Rite-Aid (for greeting cards, spiral notebooks and nail clippers), Staples (for office supplies), baronbarclay.com (for contract bridge supplies), Whole Foods Market (for magazines and vitamin and mineral supplements), and paperbackswap, dealoz, and abebooks (for books).

So here’s what you can do. First, make a list of the items you have in excess. Second, next to each item, list the place where the bulk of these purchases are made. Be sure to list online stores where applicable. And ultimately … do your best to avoid shopping at these places. If you must shop at a store you have listed, then do not buy any of the items on your Clutter-Buster List. Keep your Clutter-Buster List and your Clutter-Avoidance List handy as a gentle reminder of your ongoing commitment to stop clutter in its tracks. If you do this, you are well on your way to keeping your clutter at bay. That’s my minimalist tip for the day.

If you would like to share any of the items on your Clutter-Buster List or Clutter-Avoidance List, please feel free to post a comment.

Keeping it easy and breezy,
Vita Reid – The One Minute Minimalist

About Vita Reid

"You cannot Change What You Will Not Confront." T.D. Jakes. I am a 1993 graduate of Smith College, having majored in Psychology with a minor in Mathematics. I lived in Lawrence House during my senior year. I am an ardent bridge player and soon-to-be expert. My motivation to declutter, minimalize and clean my apartment began 10 years ago when I visited my friend's minimalistic apartment in Manhattan. He owned nothing. My motivation to speed the process of down-sizing my possessions along is fueled by a desire to entertain a world-class bridge player at my home during the world games to be held at the Marriott Hotel on Market Street in Philadelphia in October 2010. Being that I will be working almost exclusively from home when my voice over career flourishes, I would like to make my apartment pleasing to my own eye. Since clutter can also be an impediment to creativity, I find it essential to rid myself of it so that I can develop more creativity in many areas of my life, including at the bridge table, my blog posts and developing creative marketing strategies for my voice over business. This blog represents a diary of my genuine feelings moment by moment as I make the transformation from 12 years of disorganized clutter to owning only the bare essentials of life. May you find a few nuggets in the writings to inspire you in your life's journey. Keeping it easy and breezy in the land of less, Vita Reid The One Minute Minimalist

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 15,935 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

