//
you're reading...
Minimalism

Strategy for Minimalist Living: Stay Focused and Establish A Deadline

Minimalize to Get Rid of Your Eye Sore.

Hello my friends near and far,

I have been busy busy busy since my last blog posting. And you know what? I have downsized not one single item from my abode. There are still items to return to people, 300 books to sell, trade and donate, one more closet to clean out, and 13 boxes of paperwork to go through. I don’t know about you, but I do not want to take forever to get rid of all this stuff. I’m sick of stuff. I really am.

But it is so easy to get sidetracked: I helped a friend draft a resume, my friend and her fiancee dropped by and off I went to a wonderful brunch at the Silver Diner in Cherry Hill, NJ, I’ve prepared for and attended a few voice over gigs. I’ve even given my pets a massage. I don’t think I consciously avoided the project of getting rid of things, but I did not exactly tackle the project head-on with gusto either. It is so much easier to just sit on my couch, surf the web, and let my whole apartment go to pot. So I’ve decided to create my own sense of urgency where achieving a minimalist lifestyle is concerned.

I’ve decided to set a deadline for myself – a date by which my entire abode must be scaled down to the barest of essentials. My entire apartment must be completely minimized by the first day of summer. I chose summer as the cutoff because anyone who lives in my hometown of Philadelphia knows how hot and sticky humid it can get here. I certainly do not want to be doing much of anything come summertime, let alone minimalizing my apartment. I want to live a minimalist lifestyle and I am willing to do whatever it takes to achieve it now … today … not the next decade … today … not next year … today. I am going to downsize my place as if beginning this summer, all my job interviews must take place at my apartment. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want anyone to look at my place right now. It’s an eye sore … One great big pink eye! lol!

So today I took 25 books to the bookstore around the corner for store credit. The books he would not take were donated to AIDS Thrift.

What can you do to spur yourself to action right now … so that you procrastinate no more and you get your space in order in record time? Would you post your comments and suggestions below?

Keeping it easy and breezy,

Vita Reid – The One Minute Minimalist

About Vita Reid

"You cannot Change What You Will Not Confront." T.D. Jakes. I am a 1993 graduate of Smith College, having majored in Psychology with a minor in Mathematics. I lived in Lawrence House during my senior year. I am an ardent bridge player and soon-to-be expert. My motivation to declutter, minimalize and clean my apartment began 10 years ago when I visited my friend's minimalistic apartment in Manhattan. He owned nothing. My motivation to speed the process of down-sizing my possessions along is fueled by a desire to entertain a world-class bridge player at my home during the world games to be held at the Marriott Hotel on Market Street in Philadelphia in October 2010. Being that I will be working almost exclusively from home when my voice over career flourishes, I would like to make my apartment pleasing to my own eye. Since clutter can also be an impediment to creativity, I find it essential to rid myself of it so that I can develop more creativity in many areas of my life, including at the bridge table, my blog posts and developing creative marketing strategies for my voice over business. This blog represents a diary of my genuine feelings moment by moment as I make the transformation from 12 years of disorganized clutter to owning only the bare essentials of life. May you find a few nuggets in the writings to inspire you in your life's journey. Keeping it easy and breezy in the land of less, Vita Reid The One Minute Minimalist

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 15,935 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

