//
you're reading...
Minimalism, Profiles in Minimalism

Profiles in Minimalism 1: Guest Post by Lex Mosgrove of Berlin, Germany

Greetings my dear friends worldwide. Welcome to The One Minute Minimalist (TOMM)!

I’d like to introduce you to my first series of guest posts on TOMM. First let me tell you how this series titled “Profiles in Minimalism” came about.

When I began to embrace the notion of minimalism seven years ago, I didn’t think much about it other than owning fewer possessions than I do now. It didn’t occur to me until after I read David Damron’s post titled 4 Steps to Minimalism at The Minimalist Path that there’s a whole lifestyle associated with proclaiming myself a minimalist. Until then, I never really thought about the lifestyle. I just thought about the stuff.

So I got to thinking! lol! That’s right, I’m at it again … If minimalism is a lifestyle – which it most certainly is, then there must be people out there living their lives at each end of the minimalist continuum, from pack rat to ascetic, and every where in between. So what do their lives look like? How did they come to be a minimalist? Why have some people shunned minimalism? How are people living out their minimalist creed? What are they thinking about? What are they doing? Where are they living? How are they feeling about this thing called “minimalism?” What action steps did they take to attain their minimalist ideal? Have they reached their goal? Are they still trying to figure it all out? Are they in the midst of downsizing, upsizing, relocating, selling, buying, bartering or purging and how are the going about the process? You get the picture.

Profiles in Minimalism was created to answer some of these burning questions by taking a glimpse into the lives of those who are living out minimalism in varying degrees and in sundry places. Each of you, the reader, has an interesting story to tell. There is more variety that I can even imagine. The individuals featured here run the gamut, from students to parents, housewives to career women, husbands to bachelors, and from ascetics to pack racks. Numerous professions, lifestyles and countries will be showcased.

You may find something in these writings to inspire you, to pique your curiosity, to motivate you to seek alternative pathways to happiness and bliss or to reaffirm the one you’ve already chosen. You may come across some ideas that may never have occurred to you. You may even come upon ideas that you would not even consider doing in this lifetime. But that’s the beauty of it. Encounters with what you don’t like may strengthen your existing resolves.

May you find your nirvana and the pathways that lead you to lasting joy and happiness!

Rock on!

******************************************************************************************************************
GUEST POST BY LEX MOSGROVE

So now … here’s the first author. Lex Mosgrove, who hails from Berlin, Germany, is actively involved in autodidacticism, gaming, and worldbuilding. Take a look at Lex’s blog if you would like to learn more. Enjoy.

Keeping it easy and breezy,

Vita Reid – The One Minute Minimalist

***********************************************************************************************************

Copyright by ESO - http://www.eso.com

My pen name is Lex Mosgrove, and I currently live in Berlin, Germany. I’m an aspiring game designer and worldbuilder. I’m an autodidact, and yes, I am also a minimalist.

I first came into contact with minimalism as a lifestyle involuntarily. In other words, I had to get rid of all the stuff that cluttered my place at once. At first, it hurt, but now, about three years later, it feels like one of the best decision I ever made.

To be honest, I had no idea that minimalism could be a lifestyle, until I came across The One Minute Minimalist by chance. I was familiar with the concept from web design, but I wasn’t aware you could do that with your life, too, despite the fact that I had been living it for over two years at the time.

By now, minimalism has become an essential part of my life. It allows me to focus on the truly important things in my life, taking away the urge to define myself as a human being by the amount of perhaps shiny, but eventually useless, clutter I’m amassing. This strikes me as an utterly weird trophy-hunting mentality by now, but maybe that’s just me.

Yet to me minimalism isn’t about owning as little as possible. See, there’s something I like a lot about space. It’s a huge place, and it’s pretty empty, considering the distances between two stars, not to mention the galaxies. Yet it’s beautiful beyond comparison, and it works, or there wouldn’t be life on Earth. Compared to that, our lives are awfully crammed, and so much cluttered with stuff no one really needs, that we often can’t even look beyond the piles anymore.

To me, minimalism means focusing on what’s important. Not important as some unspoken conventions as society may define it, but as I define it for myself. And sometimes, light years separate the two definitions. So this is about me, the minimalist.

Minimalism allows me to travel whenever I want, and wherever I want, without having to worry about what to take, and how to carry it. This is doubly useful, since I plan to go location independent next year. Yet this probably isn’t even the most important advantage. You see, I’m the only one around to motivate myself to learn anything new. I’m also the only one around to monitor my progress and to keep my discipline and morale up, so to speak. In this respect, minimalism is extremely helpful, because it eliminates a ton of possible distractions right away, thus making any work or learning processes so much more efficient.

Minimalism has yet another advantage for autodidacts. Well … at least it does for me. For once, I don’t necessarily need to buy books to teach myself anything new, simply because there are so many good and free online courses available for virtually everything by now. The Self Education Foundation has some interesting background information and resources on the topic of educating oneself. The Massachusetts Institute of Technology offers free courses online. MIT also offers courses in German, my native language. I can’t say much about the sites they link, because I haven’t tried most of them yet. But at least it’s a start if you’re interested in becoming an autodidact.

Even if I can’t find an online course that works for me, and I have to buy a book anyway, there’s no reason why I wouldn’t sell the book again once I’m done learning. After all, I’m familiar with the matter now, and even if that online course couldn’t teach me anything, the content might still serve as a great source for reference materials later on. I will have also saved a lot of money in the end.

Which leads me minimalism in my work. Now this is actually the only area where I’m not a minimalist, at least not yet. My hard disk is cluttered with images, documents, games and music that I consider potentially inspirational. A lot of it probably isn’t particularly useful, and will probably sit there unused, slowly gathering virtual dust. The good news, however, is that virtual chaos is rather easy to get rid of. The day I hit the delete button out of frustration may come sooner than expected.

In closing, I’d like to add that I have a goal, and one that I’m pursuing with the utmost passion, dedication and perseverance. And the minimalist lifestyle allows me to pursue that goal without having to waste any time on senseless shopping sprees for the latest toys I’m supposed to own just because, or to worry about what I’m going to wear today. With a wardrobe that fits into a 25-litre backpack, including shoes, such things are just not important.

Lex Mosgrove
Berlin, Germany

About Vita Reid

"You cannot Change What You Will Not Confront." T.D. Jakes. I am a 1993 graduate of Smith College, having majored in Psychology with a minor in Mathematics. I lived in Lawrence House during my senior year. I am an ardent bridge player and soon-to-be expert. My motivation to declutter, minimalize and clean my apartment began 10 years ago when I visited my friend's minimalistic apartment in Manhattan. He owned nothing. My motivation to speed the process of down-sizing my possessions along is fueled by a desire to entertain a world-class bridge player at my home during the world games to be held at the Marriott Hotel on Market Street in Philadelphia in October 2010. Being that I will be working almost exclusively from home when my voice over career flourishes, I would like to make my apartment pleasing to my own eye. Since clutter can also be an impediment to creativity, I find it essential to rid myself of it so that I can develop more creativity in many areas of my life, including at the bridge table, my blog posts and developing creative marketing strategies for my voice over business. This blog represents a diary of my genuine feelings moment by moment as I make the transformation from 12 years of disorganized clutter to owning only the bare essentials of life. May you find a few nuggets in the writings to inspire you in your life's journey. Keeping it easy and breezy in the land of less, Vita Reid The One Minute Minimalist

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 16,091 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

