//
you're reading...
Minimalism

Embrace Change, Reduce Clutter, Enjoy Life

David Damron of The Minimalist Path offers some wonderful suggestions for strengthening and challenging the mind. By making the mind work harder, the process of simplifying one’s life becomes easier. Once we begin to make gradual and consistent changes in our mindsets, we are well on our way to a life based on our own conceptions of happiness.

I like challenge, and I especially love change.

Stagnation and the status quo drive nails into the coffin of freedom and adventure and ultimately lead to the untimely death of the human spirit. One becomes a veritable walking corpse. Striving and stretching beyond the limits of what I thought was even conceivable the year before breathes life into my daily activities and purpose in my life’s journey. Discipline and self-control are my life partners and catalysts for the change I wish to embrace.

Each day I struggle against the grain of the tribal mindset which tells me that I must compromise my individuality and freedom and cling to the stormy shores of my restlessness and discontent for the sake of that elusive thing called security. Rather than succumb to the pressures thrust upon me by outside forces to work a 9 to 5 job for 30 years so I can retire on social security, I have chosen instead to take the path of greater resistance by embarking upon endeavors which push me to a better life based upon truth as I have defined it.

I am driven by an insatiable desire for change in every facet of my life: my thoughts, philosophy, mindset, lifestyle, work, play and in the books I read, the company I keep, and in the places I travel. New experiences are provocative and sexy. They give me a reason to wake up in the morning. The adrenalin rush of the unknown steers me towards creative endeavors which nurture growth for myself and consequently the planet.

The greatest gift I can give my fellow man is to raise the level of my consciousness. By so doing, the quality of each life I touch will in some way be enriched by the encounter if that be their wish. This is my hope. This is my heart song. The beauty in life lies not in what I get, but in what I ultimately become. The beauty in life is in living each moment with joy and wonder.

Ridding yourself of clutter, brain drains and toxic relationships will free you up to live a life you truly enjoy. So take the first step to rid yourself of these things … It may be difficult and may require you to change the way you’ve always done things. There will be no more business as usual … And that’s a good thing.

Keeping it easy and breezy in a world where less is more.

Vita Reid
The One Minute Minimalist

About Vita Reid

"You cannot Change What You Will Not Confront." T.D. Jakes. I am a 1993 graduate of Smith College, having majored in Psychology with a minor in Mathematics. I lived in Lawrence House during my senior year. I am an ardent bridge player and soon-to-be expert. My motivation to declutter, minimalize and clean my apartment began 10 years ago when I visited my friend's minimalistic apartment in Manhattan. He owned nothing. My motivation to speed the process of down-sizing my possessions along is fueled by a desire to entertain a world-class bridge player at my home during the world games to be held at the Marriott Hotel on Market Street in Philadelphia in October 2010. Being that I will be working almost exclusively from home when my voice over career flourishes, I would like to make my apartment pleasing to my own eye. Since clutter can also be an impediment to creativity, I find it essential to rid myself of it so that I can develop more creativity in many areas of my life, including at the bridge table, my blog posts and developing creative marketing strategies for my voice over business. This blog represents a diary of my genuine feelings moment by moment as I make the transformation from 12 years of disorganized clutter to owning only the bare essentials of life. May you find a few nuggets in the writings to inspire you in your life's journey. Keeping it easy and breezy in the land of less, Vita Reid The One Minute Minimalist

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Embrace Change, Reduce Clutter, Enjoy Life

  1. No more business as usual. I love it. I used to be the walking dead. It’s taking some time to get ajusted to my new quicksilver life of constant change, but I like it more every day.
    Keep on keeping on. Beth

    Posted by Beth W. | February 16, 2010, 8:12 AM
    • In what way were you at one time among the walking dead? I’d love to hear more about it. How long has it taken to adjust to your new “quicksilver life of constant change?” Change is the spice of life, now isn’t it?

      Posted by Vita Reid | February 16, 2010, 8:47 AM

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 16,403 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

