//
you're reading...
Minimalism

Four Ways to Get Rid of Things

Hello my friends,

Here’s a cool video on how to declutter your garage. The suggestions here can be applied to any area of your abode.

I’ve followed all of these suggestions, with the exception of advertising on Craigslist.

Start small and work your way up to items bearing a greater weight of emotional attachment.

Post your suggestions below if you can think of other ways to clear away clutter. And remember, just because you’ve come up with an idea that works for you, it does not mean that the vast majority of the population has already thought of it. Share on brothers and sisters.

Keeping it easy and breezy where less is more,

Vita

About Vita Reid

"You cannot Change What You Will Not Confront." T.D. Jakes. I am a 1993 graduate of Smith College, having majored in Psychology with a minor in Mathematics. I lived in Lawrence House during my senior year. I am an ardent bridge player and soon-to-be expert. My motivation to declutter, minimalize and clean my apartment began 10 years ago when I visited my friend's minimalistic apartment in Manhattan. He owned nothing. My motivation to speed the process of down-sizing my possessions along is fueled by a desire to entertain a world-class bridge player at my home during the world games to be held at the Marriott Hotel on Market Street in Philadelphia in October 2010. Being that I will be working almost exclusively from home when my voice over career flourishes, I would like to make my apartment pleasing to my own eye. Since clutter can also be an impediment to creativity, I find it essential to rid myself of it so that I can develop more creativity in many areas of my life, including at the bridge table, my blog posts and developing creative marketing strategies for my voice over business. This blog represents a diary of my genuine feelings moment by moment as I make the transformation from 12 years of disorganized clutter to owning only the bare essentials of life. May you find a few nuggets in the writings to inspire you in your life's journey. Keeping it easy and breezy in the land of less, Vita Reid The One Minute Minimalist

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Four Ways to Get Rid of Things

  1. I was thinking about advertising on Craigslist, but decided it just was not worth my time. I just plain threw away alot of stuff. I feel much better for letting it go, and not worrying about it anymore. Keep up the good work.
    Beth

    Posted by Beth W. | February 11, 2010, 10:35 PM
    • I agree with your position about Craigslist, Beth. I’m so incredibly busy that I want to get rid of my excess stuff as quickly as I possibly can. Craigslist can be terribly time-consuming.

      Thanks so much for your encouragement.

      What a nice post you wrote recently. You’re doing a terrific job on your blog.

      Peace and love,
      Vita

      Posted by Vita Reid | February 11, 2010, 10:53 PM

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 16,207 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

