//
you're reading...
Minimalism

Writing a Blog Imperfectly is Perfectly Fine

“What we hope ever to do with ease, we must first learn to do with diligence.”
(Samuel Johnson)

David Damron of The Minimalist Path suggested I write a blog back in January. I’ve been stuck for some reason. Since January 18 I could not for the life of me bring myself to submit a new post. Sure … although I had draft give post since then, yet I had difficulty completing the articles because my inner-critic kept holding me back: “My writing is incoherent. No one will want to read this.”

The strange thing about it all is that I have no problem at all posting lengthy comments to someone else’s blog. The thoughts just flow … and I care not one iota whether the comments are incoherent or not. I’m merely holding a one-on-one conversation with the blogger. So easy … so breezy.

To be very honest, I’ve never been much of a linear thinker, and disciplining my mind to follow one train of thought to a successful conclusion is quite difficult for me, especially when it comes to writing a blog. (That’s why I’m a clutter-er in the first place — my mind is totally and completely undisciplined). I’ll start on one train of thought when I begin the blog, and by the time I’ve reached the end, I’m totally and completely someplace else.

The most recent post by Sean Ogle of Location 180, “Stop Maintaining and Write Incoherent Blogs,” hit a home run in the ballpark of my procrastination. I am once again on the blogging train … and here I am posting again after an 18-day hiatus. Thank you, Sean! His suggestion that I write an incoherent blog was a great idea. Shucks! I can write an incoherent blog in my sleep … in fact, I’ll make my rambling blog my signature style … as I’m sure there are many people out there, ramblers like me, who will find my blog just as useful as someone who writes in a more linear fashion.

The problem is not that what I write about may be incoherent. The problem is my perception that incoherence is necessarily a bad thing, when in fact it really isn’t. I’m sure there are millions of people out there who may find my rambling blog style quite useful, as readers may be just as rambling in their thinking as I am in mine. And because some people are ramblers by nature, they may have a very difficult time following a linear thinker’s blog and may lose interest because the content is way too boring for them (like watching paint dry) … they want excitement, frequent changes in content, twists and turns in exposition, lively tell-it-like-it-is prose, and deep-down genuine sharing of the blogger’s life in the hopes that it will help the reader on their journey in this stranger-than-fiction phenomenon we call life. I firmly believe that as long as what I say represents my genuine feelings moment by moment (no matter how imperfect my musings may be seemingly written), the fact that I ramble won’t matter at all in the end. Besides, most readers may not even notice.

Sean’s post resonates with honesty and heart, and cast a reflection on my own struggles in the blogosphere to help me overcome them. Knowing that I am not alone makes the challenges of facing my fears of inadequacy that much easier. Case in point: I posted a blog today for the first time in 18 days… Thank you for sharing, Sean Ogle!

I would like to extend a special thanks to Jesse Bishop of A Life Reinvented for linking his site to mine, thereby creating a substantial increase in traffic and views on my blog: ” . . . Vita Reid of The One Minute Minimalist reappeared on the scene with a semi-coherent and very readable post after a sizable absence. . . . And we may think that people don’t want to try to read what we write. But how will we know unless/until we try.” Very well put, Jesse and I thank you for giving me the impetus to carry on despite the challenges of being creative in the blogosphere.

From this day forward I shall post incoherent blogs and be proud!

What has been your experience? Please feel free to post your comments below.

Keeping it easy and breezy in a lifestyle where more is less,

Vita Reid
The One Minute Minimalist

About Vita Reid

"You cannot Change What You Will Not Confront." T.D. Jakes. I am a 1993 graduate of Smith College, having majored in Psychology with a minor in Mathematics. I lived in Lawrence House during my senior year. I am an ardent bridge player and soon-to-be expert. My motivation to declutter, minimalize and clean my apartment began 10 years ago when I visited my friend's minimalistic apartment in Manhattan. He owned nothing. My motivation to speed the process of down-sizing my possessions along is fueled by a desire to entertain a world-class bridge player at my home during the world games to be held at the Marriott Hotel on Market Street in Philadelphia in October 2010. Being that I will be working almost exclusively from home when my voice over career flourishes, I would like to make my apartment pleasing to my own eye. Since clutter can also be an impediment to creativity, I find it essential to rid myself of it so that I can develop more creativity in many areas of my life, including at the bridge table, my blog posts and developing creative marketing strategies for my voice over business. This blog represents a diary of my genuine feelings moment by moment as I make the transformation from 12 years of disorganized clutter to owning only the bare essentials of life. May you find a few nuggets in the writings to inspire you in your life's journey. Keeping it easy and breezy in the land of less, Vita Reid The One Minute Minimalist

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Writing a Blog Imperfectly is Perfectly Fine

  1. I’m so glad to see you back!
    I have issues with my own writing. Not long enough, not enough me in the writing. I’m glad I’m not the only one who struggles through this stuff.
    Keep writing, and take care.
    Beth

    Posted by afiveyearplan | February 6, 2010, 8:26 PM
    • Thank you, Beth. I appreciate the encouragement. No … you’re not the only one who struggles in the blogosphere, that’s for sure. Writing short blogs is a good thing actually. I often times only skim long writings. The fact that you are writing a blog is more than enough “you” in the blog. You know what, at least you started one. Best wishes to you. Peace and love.

      Posted by Vita Reid | February 6, 2010, 9:05 PM
  2. Hi Vita! I started my response to your blog
    twice now. It is after 1:00 a.m. and I am snow bound.
    So I have plenty of time and a day off from work.
    It is great to hear from you and in your true form – writing.
    There is definitely a book in you! I can’t wait. I
    too have something to write about – more later.
    As for the minimalism, I agree that “less is more”.
    Right now, I have this oversized 32″ TV that is
    too heavy for me to lift in or to re-organize. Meanwhile,
    I have a smaller TV that I CAN lift and thus will resort to
    using the smaller one. Indeed, THINGS can be a burden.
    Once when I was re-locating from one state to the other,
    I found myself burdened with things. I had to sell
    some items off and give away furniture to lighten
    my load. I was younger then. I must admit that
    age factors into my epiphany of sorts that less is more.
    One’s needs and interest change. Also, one wonders
    “what am I going to do with all these things once
    I die?” I suppose if I’m dead, I (italics) won’t
    have to do anything with anything – someone else
    will. One thing I won’t get rid of though is my
    lovely canine companion and pet. The pooch stays!
    Meanwhile, I’m still in the “less is more” stage.
    I have to figure out how I can work “minimalism”
    into my life and routine. I enjoy Tai Chi, so this
    should happen easily for me if I don’t resist it and
    resist temptation towards more things. We shall see.
    Ciao For Now, “Edie”.

    Posted by Edie | February 10, 2010, 1:51 AM
    • Hi Edie,

      How are you handling the snow? Have you developed cabin fever yet?

      I can’t wait to read what you’ll be writing about.

      One of my posts, “Just Hit the Delete Button” addresses the issues of estate liquidation. I plan to get rid of all my belongings before I kick the bucket to lessen the burden on my loved ones.

      What is your lovely canine’s name?

      Best wishes to you. Vita

      Posted by Vita Reid | February 10, 2010, 12:19 PM
  3. Keep writing Ms Vita, it’s GREAT!

    Posted by **sw215** | February 13, 2010, 10:55 AM

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 16,207 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

