//
you're reading...
Minimalism

Minimalism to the Max: 15 Benefits of Minimalism

After several weeks of cleaning, clearing, organizing, sorting, selling, donating and disposing, I often wonder whether there are greater benefits (aside from the obvious)  to going through the daily hassles of clearing out 12 years of my chaotic clutter.

So I got to thinking, which for me can be a dangerous thing!  lol!  Sure.  You can have a clean and tidy place to Tweet about, and post pictures of your Zen-tastic abode to be the envy of all your friends. But there are more benefits to becoming a minimalist than meets the eye.

I’ve come up with 15 reasons why minimalism can pay big dividends, provided you’re willing to stick it out until you reach the level of minimalism that suits you.  Post a list of your own in the comments section to encourage us all, as I’m sure there are more than 15. Let’s have fun with this and motivate each other to press onward and upward.  I certainly want more out of life than merely manipulating material possessions, don’t you?

So here goes!

FIFTEEN BENEFITS OF MINIMALISM

1.  A creditor who levies upon your personal property will have nothing to take.   Besides, you probably won’t have any creditors in the first place, as you don’t spend above your means and your spending habits are based solely on need.

2.  You won’t have to invite guests over to motivate you to clean up.  There’s nothing to clean up!

3.  There will be fewer personal items to dispose of upon your demise.   Your loved ones can just hit the delete button to get rid of most of your stuff.

4.  When you decide to move, all your belongings can be moved in one trip.  You can even pack up, move out and catch a flight to Denmark five hours later.   There are no balls and chains of personal belongings weighing you down with oppressive force.

5.  A burglar alarm system won’t be necessary, AND you can keep your door unlocked!   I love this one!

6.  Nothing will be lost in a fire.  When you evacuate the premises, you can carry it all out with you at once(cat, dog, laptop and all).

7.  There will be no need to insure your personal belongings.  You don’t own enough to justify the monthly premium.

8.  Your rental or mortgage payments will be lower because less space will be required to hold your stuff.

9.  You won’t have to work as many hours, because you’ll be buying less stuff.

10.  You won’t have to leave a night light on to avoid tripping over things in the hallway en route to the kitchen for midnight munchies.  That’s me!

11.  Your trash bags will be lighter.

12.  There will be fewer clothes to wash on laundry day.

13.  Your entire music collection can fit in your back pocket.   Gotta love that mp3 player!

14. You won’t need to rent storage space for your extra stuff.

AND LAST BUT NOT LEAST,

15.  Your entire book collection can be stored on Kindle.  AND there are no more duplicate purchases.  I can’t even begin to tell you how many times I’ve forgotten I bought a book or can’t even find it.

What is your experience?

Keeping it easy and breezy in the land of less,

Vita Reid

About Vita Reid

"You cannot Change What You Will Not Confront." T.D. Jakes. I am a 1993 graduate of Smith College, having majored in Psychology with a minor in Mathematics. I lived in Lawrence House during my senior year. I am an ardent bridge player and soon-to-be expert. My motivation to declutter, minimalize and clean my apartment began 10 years ago when I visited my friend's minimalistic apartment in Manhattan. He owned nothing. My motivation to speed the process of down-sizing my possessions along is fueled by a desire to entertain a world-class bridge player at my home during the world games to be held at the Marriott Hotel on Market Street in Philadelphia in October 2010. Being that I will be working almost exclusively from home when my voice over career flourishes, I would like to make my apartment pleasing to my own eye. Since clutter can also be an impediment to creativity, I find it essential to rid myself of it so that I can develop more creativity in many areas of my life, including at the bridge table, my blog posts and developing creative marketing strategies for my voice over business. This blog represents a diary of my genuine feelings moment by moment as I make the transformation from 12 years of disorganized clutter to owning only the bare essentials of life. May you find a few nuggets in the writings to inspire you in your life's journey. Keeping it easy and breezy in the land of less, Vita Reid The One Minute Minimalist

Discussion

16 thoughts on “Minimalism to the Max: 15 Benefits of Minimalism

  1. My favorite reason for decluttering: Having less stuff allows me to be less distracted. Less distractions = more focus on what really matters in life.

    Posted by Sam | January 18, 2010, 1:14 PM
    • I hear ya. My life has been consumed by disposing of all my stuff, so much so that I have devoted little time to studying bridge. Thanks for posting a comment. Best wishes to you.

      Posted by vitalynne | January 18, 2010, 1:28 PM
      • I just read ur TWITTER and it was cool. I like the idea of having less clutter in my life, and I really need to work on that, so there it is, ok? Great! Also, catch me on facebook, please. Thanks cux, stay in touch!

        Posted by Bonnie Beckham | January 22, 2010, 6:24 PM
  2. 16. The show Hoarders will be off the air

    Posted by Tojuana | January 28, 2010, 9:41 AM
  3. Awesome! I had to dispose of most of my stuff some years ago for reasons I don’t care to discuss, and thought it was horrible at first, but now totally enjoy the new minimalist freedom.

    And, I hadn’t thought about the books (books and me are almost impossible to separate). Good idea with Kindle. Stupid me. 🙂

    (BTW, came here via Location 180.)

    Posted by Lex Mosgrove | January 29, 2010, 12:29 PM
    • Hi Lex. Books are very difficult for me as well, but with each passing day it’s getting easier. A bookseller came to my abode today and purchased 75 of my books for $75. He would have purchased $115 worth but I decided not to sell 30 of the books he had wanted to buy from me. Parting with them was such sweet sorry. It only hurt for a minute. Thankfully, my attention span is so short that in time I won’t remember I even owned the books.

      Thanks for visiting, and drop by again soon.

      Best wishes to you. Peace and love.

      Vita Reid, The One Minute Minimalist.

      Posted by vitalynne | January 29, 2010, 12:55 PM
  4. Hi Vita, discovered you on Unclutterer’s forum. (I’m klutzgrrl there, which I decided I’m getting a little to old for!)

    Inspirational post! I love the way you think. Unfortunately true minimalism is something I can’t seriously aspire to – I play a large musical instrument and need a large computer and peripherals – but I love your list of positives. I think I might print it out and stick it on the fridge.

    Posted by Klutzmom | February 22, 2010, 12:56 AM
    • Hello Klutzmom: Thanks so much for dropping by and posting a comment to The One Minute Minimalist.

      I appreciate that you opened a forum discussion about the cumbersome and often painful burden of unloading an often out-of-control book collection. How are you coming along with your books?

      klutzgrrl! I love your name … and there is nothing at all wrong with calling yourself that (assuming that is what you mean by that statement. Isn’t it wonderful that it is you who defines who “you” are. You go girl!

      I appreciate your comment about my post … thank you for the encouragement. It is comments like yours that inspire me to continue, as I truly want to help people if that be their wish.

      What large musical instrument do you play?

      The beauty of minimalism is that there is no one way to be or one way to live a minimalistic lifestyle. So … feel free to live it or not live it as you so choose. It’s all about achieving a comfort level that makes life wonderful and keeps you happy.

      Thanks again for dropping by … do drop by again soon.

      Posted by Vita Reid | February 22, 2010, 8:24 AM
  5. klutzgrrrl – thank you for posting the link to this site on unclutterer! And Vita, thank you for your tips – I can’t wait to read your other posts!

    Posted by themusiclivez | February 22, 2010, 10:25 PM
    • Thank you so much for dropping by to visit The One Minute Minimalist, and I’d like to welcome you to the community.

      If you wish to chat with me privately when you are logged into the blog, feel free to do so … I’d love to hear from you.
      If there is a particular topic or issue you would like me to address, if you have any questions or concerns, or if you’d
      just like to chat, I’d be delighted to speak with you.

      Please rest assured that your Live Chat message is private, and I am the only one who has access to the chat.

      Feel free also to follow me on Twitter …. @VitaReid.

      Have a great day …

      Posted by Vita Reid | February 22, 2010, 10:34 PM
  6. Hi and thanks for the kind welcome! I chose my username because I’m a sort of ‘speak first, think later’ person and am also very clumsy. So in both the virtual and real worlds I often trip myself up! So I’m willing to own that! I chose the ‘grrl’ part because I’ve seen a few feminists use it, and I like the girl + ‘grrr’, being a protective mom.

    I play Cello, which is very large and requires a stable environment. Then there’s the music stand, music, chair, metronome… plus of course music lessons. I used to have music from one end of the house to the other, but I’ve learned to organize it now! I’m so glad we have CDs, ipods and youtube now… I hate to think how much space I’d need for a vinyl record collection.

    Posted by Klutzmom | February 23, 2010, 7:17 PM
    • You and I are so much alike, Klutzmom. I shoot from the hip in conversation and I am soooo clumsy. My mom tells me all the time that I can trip on flat land. Yes … I trip myself up too.

      This technological age we live in makes it so easy to store or digital media. Thank goodness for that … I was able to rid myself of 150 CDs, and the 2,000 or so songs are now toted around on my mp3 player. I love that. So I have no radio, tv, cd player, records or cd’s. I’m on my way.

      I just recently loaded a few tracks by Yo Yo Ma on my iTouch. I have not had a chance to listen to him yet because I’m so devoted to blogging, bridge and voice acting.

      Which genre of music do you prefer?

      Posted by Vita Reid | February 23, 2010, 8:19 PM
    • Good evening. I have posted a reply to your comment on TOMM. Happy music making.

      Vita

      Posted by Vita Reid | February 23, 2010, 8:54 PM
  7. Oh all sorts – Baroque and Classical; not so into the romantics with a few exceptions. Also rock/pop particularly but also rock and ‘old school’ heavy metal, as well as cross-cultural stuff and world music.

    Do find time to listen to Yo Yo, he’s such a fine cellist. Elegant and lyrical.

    Posted by Klutzmom | February 24, 2010, 6:05 AM
    • I’d love to hear you play someday … Would you happen to have an mp3 file of your work to share? I’d love to hear ya?

      You are so right at Yo Yo Ma! A few nights about I listened to him pay Barber’s Cello Concerto, Op. 22. So lovely … so delightful!

      Posted by Vita Reid | February 28, 2010, 11:52 AM

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 16,091 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

