//
you're reading...
Minimalism

From Pack Rat to Minimalist One Item at a Time

This is a maiden post in my very first blog in the blogosphere.

I’d like to extend a special thanks to Blogger David Damron of The Minimalist Path and Life Excursion for encouraging me to create a blog of my own with respect to my daily transformation from pack rat to minimalist:   “Less space.  Less things.  More Life.

This blog is a diary of my genuine feelings moment by moment. May these posts inspire and assist you in your journey from clutter to freedom.

My Minimalist Musings:

A woman I met in early December told me to do just a little bit every day, and that my apartment would be organized in no time.   And she was right.  In just a few short weeks, I have painted my abode and have rid myself of enough belongings that I now have a small open space smack dab in the center of my living room.  Certain areas of my carpet haven’t seen the light of day for 5 years.

I have begun to organize the boxes in my apartment according to what they contain.  One bedroom wall is set aside for office supplies, another for CD’s I plan to upload to iTunes and sell to a cd store, and another for papers relating to my voice acting career.  I spent  a mere 15 minutes today moving a collection of items from the hallway shelves to designated boxes in my living room and bedroom.  Small steps such as these are giant leaps in my long-range goal to owning so much less than I do now.   A little bit means a lot.

Don’t have a lot of time?  Spend 5 minutes a day cleaning out one drawer.

Don’t know where to start?  My mom used to say, “If you don’t know where to start, then it doesn’t matter where you start.  Just start anywhere.”

The FYE music store gave me $21 for the CD’s I sold today.

You see, getting rid of things is always in the forefront of my mind no matter where I am or what I’m doing.  So while I was having a late-night meal at the Imperial Inn in Chinatown with my bridge friends this evening, I gave two of the CD’s that FYE did not purchase to two of my friends.   I left home with 20 CD’s this afternoon and came home with only two.  How cool!

So the long and short of it is (and preferably shorter than longer) … keep it simple … even when it comes to minimalizing and downsizing, my friends.   And keep it fun and breezy.

You don’t want to get bogged down or frustrated because you don’t think you’re making any progress … believe me when I tell you that the mere fact that you have brought your clutter tendencies to the forefront of your mind and want to do something about it are  huge steps.

You cannot change what you don’t confront.

Peace and love.

Vita Reid

About Vita Reid

"You cannot Change What You Will Not Confront." T.D. Jakes. I am a 1993 graduate of Smith College, having majored in Psychology with a minor in Mathematics. I lived in Lawrence House during my senior year. I am an ardent bridge player and soon-to-be expert. My motivation to declutter, minimalize and clean my apartment began 10 years ago when I visited my friend's minimalistic apartment in Manhattan. He owned nothing. My motivation to speed the process of down-sizing my possessions along is fueled by a desire to entertain a world-class bridge player at my home during the world games to be held at the Marriott Hotel on Market Street in Philadelphia in October 2010. Being that I will be working almost exclusively from home when my voice over career flourishes, I would like to make my apartment pleasing to my own eye. Since clutter can also be an impediment to creativity, I find it essential to rid myself of it so that I can develop more creativity in many areas of my life, including at the bridge table, my blog posts and developing creative marketing strategies for my voice over business. This blog represents a diary of my genuine feelings moment by moment as I make the transformation from 12 years of disorganized clutter to owning only the bare essentials of life. May you find a few nuggets in the writings to inspire you in your life's journey. Keeping it easy and breezy in the land of less, Vita Reid The One Minute Minimalist

Discussion

7 thoughts on “From Pack Rat to Minimalist One Item at a Time

  1. I will take your advice. You make it sound so easy!
    XXOO

    Posted by Angelique Barks | January 15, 2010, 3:39 AM
    • Thanks so much for reviewing my first ever blog, Angelique. I must say that it feels a bit strange writing for the populous and even more strange that people will find what I write useful and interesting.

      Down-sizing should take effort but it should not feel like a struggle. Our feeble minds attempt to sabotage our good faith efforts at minimalism no matter how small by reminding us of the numerous tasks which still lie ahead. Whatever we do today, no matter how small, is enough. If all I can bring myself to do today is to throw out one worn out piece of clothing, then so be it. The way I see it, that’s one less item to worry about.

      The best way to eat an elephant is one bite at a time.

      Posted by vitalynne | January 15, 2010, 12:05 PM
  2. Great job Vita!!! I am proud of you…

    I think making your carpet see the light of day will do so much more for you than you realize. There is a sort of relaxation to the removal of clutter.

    I can’t wait to read more….

    David Damron
    TMP

    P.S. A review of your efforts and blog coming to TMP later this weekend.

    Posted by ddamron44 | January 14, 2010, 11:49 PM
    • David: You are so right. One of my many motivations for the removal of clutter is my desire to rid myself of the constant feelings of being overwhelmed and out of control.

      Now that I take a little bit of action every day to reach my goal, I can see a light at the end of the tunnel.

      Posted by vitalynne | January 15, 2010, 12:08 PM
  3. I like to think that I am a minimalist, however I think I am more of a packrat by nature. In order to combat that I decided on my most recent journey to Thailand to only use one small North Face day bag, rather than also bring a bigger 55 liter bag. So far everything has worked out great.

    I applaud your efforts towards reducing clutter and congrats on starting the blog!

    Posted by Sean | January 15, 2010, 6:53 AM
  4. Thank you Vita. I was searching for help getting started on my journey to minimalist. I am inspired by your blog. I’ve been a packrat ever since I can remember and understand the feelings of being overwhelmed and out of control. I am taking my first step to the light at the end of the tunnel.
    Thank you again.
    All the best to you.
    Nancy Perin

    Posted by Nancy Perin | June 16, 2010, 1:14 PM

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 16,091 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

